Missing something from Florence?

Image

Arriving at Ponte Vecchio during dawn feels like finding the missing piece of the Florence puzzle.

These are some shots of the most romantic European bridge very early this morning.  Here is an effort to grasp the charm of this famous Italian bridge, of Florence and of something else, not sure how to call it… something I’m always looking for when travelling (probably the reason why I travel) and which seems to be really close to me when I find myself around bridges and markets.

Let’s concentrate on bridges for now since I happen to have some pictures of a poetic, deserted bridge to share with you. The project came to my mind last Sunday when I accidentally found myself on this same bridge at the worst possible time of the day, apparently…

Image

What has to be noticed in this photo is the number 7 on the orange round sticker of the tourist lady wearing the black shirt. They get numbered now! I had never seen this before. I admit that I generally lack tolerance towards massive tourism but these numbers go beyond what I could have imagined. I can deal with the big red bus, the 5-hour waiting lines (especially since I have the choice not to wait), and the general lack of quality in the way most people welcome travelers, but I was just not able to digest the fact that they are now putting numbers on them… “tourist number 1, number 2…., number 25” and then again “tourist number 1, number 2…., number 25”. Each group has its members numbered… but the members seem happy. They smile. That’s when I stop the thinking since I find no rational explanation to what is going on and I try to find other ways to express myself. I made this point to explain how I got submerged by the need to see this medieval bridge ALONE.

I was not alone. Other people too had this need at 5 o’clock in the morning on the Ponte Vecchio Bridge but the persons I saw there were (according to my criteria) the most normal visitors I’ve encountered in Florence so far. They were from different backgrounds but they were travelers, not tourists (or nightlife lovers, to be honest) and they were there to think, sometimes to take some pictures (not maniacally, just a couple of pictures) or to talk and hang out in what I discovered to be a magical place. I did not take pictures of these late-night-bridge-visitors out of respect for the authentic moments they were experiencing but I hope to have been able to grasp some drops of atmosphere, just enough to convince you to make the effort to cross that bridge, if you ever visit or re-visit Florence. Make the effort to stay up all night, or to wake up at dawn for a journey through water and time, deep blue space and shiny glass; with a special invitation to artistic souls (not only photographers) who may get shivers of great satisfaction while crossing the bridge.

Image
The bridge
Image
Cross the bridge
Image
Alone
Image
Cannot buy
Image
Closed
Image
Avoid
Image
Look out
Image
Look in
Image
Walk in
Image
metal
Image
water
Image
glass
Image
Long night for jewelers
Image
Behind the curtains
Image
Ponte Vecchio
Image
Florence d’arabie
Image
Old bridge

17 Comments

  1. I enjoyed a lot the text!!!
    How can I forget that I also ‘ve “missed” something in Florence… my bag… it has been stollen, but it was a long time ago. E/a

  2. Your pictures of the bridge of beautiful!!! Thank you. It’s interesting, isn’t it? That a place that is famous the world over doesn’t always seem on first glance to be worthy of the fame…and then the more you “know” the place, the more you understand why…

    1. It won’t disappoint you! Let us know if you need advice! A free tip, because we loved your Amsterdam pic… Don’t miss the Oblate Library… great for a coffee, an aperitif, free wifi or an afternoon snack!

      1. Hahaha… You have some really nice pictures indeed! For what concerns free tips, they are lots of them on my new website http://www.urbanbilingual.com... You should check it out before you go… there is also a calendar with the good deals of the month… can’t wait to see your Florence pics! That’s a real challenge… it’s been photographed a lot!

      2. Thanks again:) I will read the new website:) The unusual pictures: I will do it with my eyes closed :)) Have you been in Stockholm? That is my march destination… Florence is for the Eurotrip in the summer holidays 🙂

      3. No, unfortunately not yet… but I will be publishing later this afternoon a short article about Urban Experts and where to find authentic information from locals… one of the Experts is from Stockholm (Lola Akinmade Akerstrom) and she makes the city sound SO attractive!

  3. I think cities look better at night. If you travel during the Summer, the light is too harsh for good photos anyway. I usually go out during the day without my camera. I only bring it out at night when it is cooler and the lights turn everything into something different.

    1. This is so true Eduardo… I think I’ve been doing the same without realizing it… waiting for the end of the day, I mean, and look for that bright dark blue sky or yellow light coming out of a cozy home… those are the right time for photos… the early evening and the night!! Have a good night then and keep sharing your great photos with us!

Leave a comment